Luftaufnahme Palawan Meer und Strand

Due to the corona crisis, which hit the tourism sector hardest, some “remember” sustainable travel or ask themselves how big their own carbon footprint really is and how sustainable travel is possible.

Headings such as "Corona ensures the relaxation of nature" or articles that the canals of Venice are as blue and clear as never before, let us once again become aware of the immense influence we as travelers have on Earth. Metro Manila also shows itself without a cloudy sky, the fine dust content in the air has decreased extremely.

Don't get me wrong, the debate about sustainable travel has not only existed since Corona, but for many, many years, but it is coming to the fore. We all want to travel again as soon as possible. Me too! But how far have you dealt with the topic of sustainable travel? Here's a little digression with tips on how to make your vacation in the Philippines as sustainable as possible.

Sustainable tourism in the Philippines?

There are some countries, towns and regions that have committed themselves to sustainable tourism. And in fact the Philippines is one of them. Sustainability has become a key concept in tourism in the Philippines. The tourism association is sending a clear signal, especially with the #morefunforever and #SOS campaigns. High standards are set, the population is informed and motivated to get involved. The closure of Boracay, with new regulations today, was the big start. There are many small projects taking place all over the Philippines. Other tourist attractions such as the Sugba Lagoon or the Rock Pools are opened every year Siargao locked to provide some regeneration. Siargao is considered THE sustainable island in the Philippines anyway.

Of course, a third world country like the Philippines is not a global pioneer, but quite far ahead in Southeast Asia. This is certainly also due to the fact that, unlike in Thailand or Indonesia, there is no comparable mass tourism in the Philippines.

So here is mine little digression which offers you an initial introduction, answers any questions and could change your actions in future trips.

Air Travel - 90% of the emissions from your entire trip

Starting with the distance to the travel destination, it is clear to everyone that a regional holiday within your own country by bus, train, ferry or car first generates the lowest CO2 emissions. Of course, this is not possible for long-distance trips. If you don't want to spend your vacation in your own country, take the flight. There is no way around it and as long as airplanes are operated with kerosene, an air journey already creates up to 90% of emissions for your entire trip.

There are now some providers with whom you can Compensate for flights can. For example the NGO Atmosfair or the foundation myclimate make it possible. The providers calculate how much greenhouse gases are emitted by the flight and how much it would cost to save them elsewhere. The compensation then flows into sustainable projects. This means not only reforestation of the rainforest, but also the development of renewable energies such as wind power plants or projects that provide training on environmentally friendly behavior. It is not just about saving greenhouse gases, but also about sustainably improving living conditions and understanding among the population.

Of course, all this does not mean that you can now fly more often due to the compensation, but can only compensate for a part and realize that the price of flying goes beyond the cost of air tickets. I think that if you have money for a long-distance trip, you can also spend a few euros more on the Co2 compensation. Traveling is a privilege and carries a certain responsibility. We should always be aware of this.

Travel slowly, but more sustainable

The further the destination country is from your home country, the longer your vacation should last. Anyone who flies halfway around the world should not only do this for a 1-week vacation. If you want to travel to several countries in Asia, then connect the countries with each other and extend your vacation timeinstead of booking a long-haul flight twice.

Your local movement also has a significant impact. Domestic flights should be avoided. If possible use ferries, boats or coaches. In the Philippines in particular, many islands can be easily reached by ferry and coaches take you from big cities to the provinces. Sometimes it takes a little longer, but we have learned to travel slowly 😉 Find out here more about transportation within the Philippines.

Recycling? Your handling of garbage, plastic, drinking water and electricity

The handling of plastic is of course an enormous influence. Of course, this applies to at home, but especially when traveling. Because recycling or deposit are almost foreign words, especially in distant countries. Avoid disposable plastic whenever possible.

Tip: take two jute bags from home, go shopping with them at local markets and use them as a carrier bag. You can also give these to the laundry service, for example

The topic of drinking water goes hand in hand with plastic. Tap water is usually not filtered water and is not suitable for drinking. There is drinking water in every store around the corner, but always from plastic bottles. So get yourself one Water bottle eg from Clanteen. This not only cools / warms your drink longer, but can also be reuse. There are “refill stations” where you can refill your bottles inexpensively, many accommodations already offer this service and at airports these stations are often free of charge.

In general, the following also applies save on natural and vital resources and electricity. You don't have to shower for 10 minutes every day, change your towel every day, and turn on the Aircon in the evening to cool down, that's enough.

Everyone counts, including you! Join Clean Up's

If plastic cannot be avoided, make sure that you dispose of it properly. This also applies to other people's garbage, don't just ignore it. When you arrive at the next waterfall or beach and take a short walk, you can simply dispose of the visible garbage.

Get involved Clean Ups. If you don't want to collect the garbage alone as in the above point, then maybe as a group. Find out in advance or when you arrive for clean ups, ask at the local tourist offices or the locals. In the Philippines in particular, there is a long list of organizations that you can visit and support, as well as daily beach cleanups.

Check it out here, right at the ICC Philippines or at Marine Conservation PH

Check out this post on Instagram

A post shared by Jackson Groves (@ jackson.groves) at the

 

Check out this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Plastic Free Bohol (@plasticfree_bohol) at the

 

Check out this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by The Plastic Solution (@plasticsolutionph) at the

Don't forget to support the local population

Let the local people participate. Sustainability not only means protecting the environment and species, but also social justice. For example, you can book accommodation led by locals, the same applies to tour operators and guides. Make sure that small shops benefit or the local waiter gets his tip. You will also notice that the more you surround yourself with the locals, the more authentic your experience in the country will be. It is all the better to know that your money really arrives in the country and among the population.

The same applies to the Tour operators on site. Is your tour guide a local? How are the tours organized? What are the online ratings like? You can also ask the provider what the company contributes to the community. Usually, however, also means that the cheaper product is usually not sustainable. We know that, but we often follow “avarice is cool”…

Choose yours accommodation carefully. A 4-star concrete bunker with a 24/7 heated infinity pool is mostly unsustainable unless you choose specially classified ones Eco Hotels. I don't mean to say that you should book the last stay or just eco-lodges, but I think a good mediocrity is appropriate.  Ask yourself the following questions: Is the staff local? Does the Aircon run all the time? How is the accommodation cooked, i.e. only imported goods or local dishes? If you decide on the luxury variant, check whether the accommodation is really excellent or simply called "Eco".

fresh fruits-support locals in philippines-

Your handling of animals

In many places around the world, animals are useful objects or profitable for the tourist business. You should pay particular attention to every leisure activity with animals assess, do research and read reviews.  The best example for the Philippines is that Swimming with whale sharks. Oslob on Cebu is best known for this, but I do not recommend it under any circumstances; no I even advise against it! Animals are fed and touched. Dozens of boats come out every day so that a large number of tourists can jump into the sea with life jackets and GoPro. More sustainable alternative: swimming with whale sharks in Donsol.

The following applies to tours on and in the water: animals, whether small fish, turtle or large whale shark, are not touched, corals are not touched, broken off or stood on! This can not only lead to bad infections, but also prevents what the corals grow.

giant whaleshark

I hope I was able to give you some helpful tips so that you can soon go on a more sustainable trip.

 

I look forward to your comments and feedback!

All the best,

your Nathalie

5 Comments. Leave new

  • Avatar
    Bitabit

    Thanks for promoting philippines tourism and culture…let’s hope after pandemic that we can explore the new philippines.

    Reply
    • Mabuhay Travel Club
      Mabuhay Travel Club

      yaay! yes, pleeeease 😀

      Reply
  • Avatar
    Raymond

    Nicely written and done my friend!
    I’ve just started writing a bpog myself recently and realized many people merely rework
    old content but add very little of benefit. It’s good to read aan infoprmative write-up
    of some true value to your readers and I.
    It’s on the lisst of things I need to replicate as a neww blogger.

    Audience engagement and content quality are king.
    Manny awesome ideas; you have absolutely managed to get on my list of blogs to watch!

    Continue the fantastiic work!
    Congratulations,
    Rodrigo

    My web blog Cellphone Imei Unlocking; http://latterdaysaintartswiki.org/index.php?title=User:ConnieBurd,

    Reply
    • Mabuhay Travel Club
      Mabuhay Travel Club

      Hi Raymond!
      Thank you very much for your nicely comment. Means a lot to me and this is exactly my goal! Giving value to the people and making travelling to the Philippines more easy. Looking forward to hear from you!
      Next blogposts are in the pipeline and are just about the be released.
      Sending my best regards and stay healthy
      Nathalie

      Reply
  • 这个不错耶,我喜欢!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

Menü
en_USEnglish

Luftaufnahme Palawan Meer und Strand

Aufgrund der Corona-Krise, die den Tourismussektor mit am härtesten getroffen hat, „erinnern“ sich einige wieder an das nachhaltige Reisen oder stellen sich selbst die Frage, wie groß der eigene Co2 Fußabdruck wirklich ist und wie nachhaltiges Reisen möglich ist.

Überschriften wie „Corona sorgt für die Erholung der Natur“ oder Artikel, dass die Kanäle von Venedig so blau und klar wie nie zuvor sind, lassen uns wieder einmal mehr bewusst werden, welchen immensen Einfluss wir als Reisende auf die Erde haben. Auch Metro Manila zeigt sich ohne trüben Himmel, der Feinstaubgehalt in der Luft hat sich extrem verringert.

Versteht mich nicht falsch, die Debatte über nachhaltiges Reisen besteht nicht erst seit Corona, sondern schon viele viele Jahre, aber sie rückt immer weiter in den Vordergrund. Wir wollen alle so bald wie möglich wieder reisen. Ich auch! Aber in wie weit hast Du dich schon mal mit dem Thema des nachhaltigen Reisen auseinander gesetzt? Hier ein kleiner Exkurs mit Tipps, wie du deinen Urlaub auf den Philippinen so nachhaltig wie möglich gestalten kannst.

Nachhaltiger Tourismus auf den Philippinen?

Es gibt einige Länder bzw. Orte und Regionen, die sich dem nachhaltigen Tourismus zugeschrieben haben. Und tatsächlich gehören die Philippinen dazu. Nachhaltigkeit ist im Tourismus auf den Philippinen zu einem Schlüsselbegriff geworden. Der Tourismusverband setzt ein deutliches Zeichen, vorallem mit den Kampagnen #morefunforever und #SOS. Es werden hohe Standards gesetzt, die Bevölkerung aufgeklärt und motiviert, sich einzubringen. Die Schließung von Boracay, mit heute neuen Regelungen, war der große Anfang. Es sind viele kleine Projekte, die überall auf den Philippinen stattfinden. So werden einmal jährlich auch andere Touristenattraktionen wie die Sugba Lagoon oder die Rock Pools auf Siargao gesperrt, um für eine gewisse Regeneration zu Sorgen. Siargao gilt sowieso als DIE nachhaltige Insel auf den Philippinen.

Natürlich ist ein dritte Welt Land wie die Philippinen kein globaler Vorreiter, aber in Südostasien schon ziemlich weit vorne. Das liegt sicherlich auch an dem Fakt, dass es anders als in Thailand oder Indonesien, auf den Philippinen keinen vergleichbaren Massentourismus gibt.

Hier also mein kleiner Exkurs der dir eine erste Einführung bietet, eventuelle Fragen beantwortet und dein Handeln bei zukünftigen Reisen nachhaltig etwas verändern könnte.

Flugreise - 90% der Emissionen deiner gesamten Reise

Beginnend mit der Entfernung zum Reiseziel ist jedem klar, dass ein regionaler Urlaub innerhalb des eigenen Landes mit Bus, Bahn, Fähre oder Auto erstmal den geringsten Co2 Ausstoß erzeugt. Bei Fernreisen ist das natürlich nicht möglich. Wer seinen Urlaub nicht im eigenen Land verbringen möchte, greift zum Flug. Da führt kein Weg dran vorbei und solange Flugzeuge mit Kerosin betrieben werden, erzeugt eine Fluganreise schon bis zu 90% der Emissionen deiner gesamten Reise.

Es gibt mittlerweile einige Anbieter, mit denen man Flüge kompensieren kann. Zum Beispiel die NGO Atmosfair oder die Stiftung myclimate machen es möglich. Die Anbieter berechnen wie viel Treibhausgase durch die Flugreise ausgestoßen werden und wie viel es kosten würde, diese an andere Stellen einzusparen. Die Kompensation fließt dann in nachhaltige Projekte. Darunter versteht man nicht nur das Aufforsten des Regenwaldes, sondern auch den Aufbau von erneuerbaren Energien wie Windkraftwerke oder Projekte die Schulungen zu umweltfreundlichen Handeln vermitteln. Es gilt nicht nur Treibhausgase einzusparen, sondern auch, die Lebensbedingungen und das Verständnis der Bevölkerung nachhaltig zu verbessern.

All das heißt natürlich nicht, dass man durch die Kompensation jetzt öfter Fliegen darf, sondern lediglich einen Teil ausgleichen kann und sich mal vor Augen führt, dass der Preis des Fliegens über die Flugticketkosten hinaus geht. Ich bin der Meinung, wer Geld für eine Fernreise hat, der kann auch einige Euro mehr ausgeben für den Co2 Ausgleich. Reisen ist ein Privileg und birgt eine gewisse Verantwortung. Das sollte uns stets bewusst sein.

Reise langsam, dafür nachhaltiger

Je weiter das Zielland vom Heimatland entfernt ist, desto länger sollte dein Urlaub andauern. Wer einmal um die halbe Welt fliegt, sollte das nicht nur für einen 1-wöchigen Urlaub tun. Solltest du mehrere Länder in Asien bereisen wollen, dann verbinde die Länder miteinander und verlängere deine Urlaubsspanne, anstatt zweimal einen Langstreckenflug zu buchen.

Deutlicher Einfluss hat auch deine Fortbewegung vor Ort. Inlandsflüge sollten vermieden werden. Wenn möglich benutze Fähren, Boote oder Reisebusse. Gerade auf den Philippinen lassen sich viele Inseln super mit Fähren erreichen und Reisebusse bringen dich von Großstädten in die Provinzen.  Das dauert manchmal etwas länger, aber wir haben ja gelernt, langsam zu reisen 😉 Erfahre hier mehr über den Transport innerhalb der Philippinen.

Recycling ? Dein Umgang mit Müll, Plastik, Trinkwasser und Strom

Enormer Einfluss ist natürlich der Umgang mit Plastik. Das gilt natürlich für zu Hause, ganz besonders aber auch auf Reisen. Denn gerade in fernen Ländern sind Recycling oder Pfand quasi Fremdwörter. Einwegplastik also wann immer möglich vermeiden.

Tipp: Nimm dir zwei Jutebeutel von zu Hause mit, gehe mit diesen auf lokalen Märkten kaufen und nutze sie als Tragetasche. Diese kannst du z.B auch zum Wäscheservice geben

Thema Trinkwasser geht einher mit dem Plastik. Das Leitungswasser ist meist kein gefiltertes Wasser und zum Trinken nicht geeignet. In jedem Store um die Ecke gibt es Trinkwasser, aber eben immer aus Plastikflaschen. Besorge dir also eine Trinkflasche z.B. von Clanteen. Diese kühlt/wärmt nicht nur länger dein Getränk, sondern lässt sich widerverwenden. Es gibt „refill stations“ in denen Du deine Flaschen preiswert auffüllen kannst, viele Unterkünfte bieten diesen Service auch schon an und an Flughäfen gibt es diese Stationen auch oftmals kostenlos.

Allgemein gilt auch, spare an natürlichen und lebensnotwendigen Ressourcen und beim Strom. Du musst nicht täglich 10 Minuten duschen, dein Handtuch jeden Tag wechseln, und die Aircon am Abend zum Abkühlen mal einschalten, das reicht auch aus.

Jeder einzelne zählt, auch Du! Mach mit bei Clean Up's

Solltet sich Plastik nicht vermeiden lassen, dann stelle sicher, dass Du es richtig entsorgst. Das gilt aber auch für den Müll anderer, ignoriere ihn nicht einfach. Wenn du beim nächsten Wasserfall oder Strand ankommst und einen kleinen Spaziergang machst, dann kannst du den sichtbaren Müll doch einfach mit entsorgen.

Mache mit bei Clean Up’s. Wenn du nicht alleine wie im oberen Punkt den Müll sammeln möchtest, dann vielleicht als Gruppe. Informiere dich vorab oder bei deiner Anreise nach Clean ups, frage in den lokalen Tourismusbüros nach oder die Einheimischen. Gerade auf den Philippinen gibt es eine lange Liste mit Organisationen, die du besuchen und unterstützen kannst, sowie tägliche Beach Clean ups.

Schau mal hier nach, direkt beim ICC Philippines oder beim Marine Conservation PH

Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Jackson Groves (@jackson.groves) am

 

Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an

 

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Plastic Free Bohol (@plasticfree_bohol) am

 

Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an

 

Ein Beitrag geteilt von The Plastic Solution (@plasticsolutionph) am

Vergiss nicht die lokale Bevölkerung zu unterstützen

Lass die lokale Bevölkerung teilhaben. Nachhaltigkeit heißt nicht nur Umwelt- und Artenschutz, sondern auch soziale Gerechtigkeit. Du kannst zum Beispiel Unterkünfte geführt von Einheimischen buchen, gleiches gilt für Tourenanbieter und Guides. Sorge dafür, dass die kleine Läden profitieren oder der einheimische Kellner sein Trinkgeld bekommt.  Du wirst auch merken, je mehr du dich mit den Einheimischen umgibst, desto authentischer ist auch deine Erfahrung im Land.  Umso schöner ist es auch zu wissen, dass dein Geld wirklich im Land und bei der Bevölkerung ankommt.

Gleiches gilt für die Tourenanbieter vor Ort. Ist dein Tour Guide ein Einheimischer? Wie sind die Touren aufgestellt? Wie sind die online Bewertungen? Du kannst den Anbieter auch mal fragen, was das Unternehmen zur Community beiträgt. Heißt meistens aber auch, das günstigere Produkt ist meistens nicht nachhaltig. Wir wissen das, folgen aber oftmals „Geiz ist Geil“…

Wähle deine Unterkunft sorgsam aus. Ein 4 Sterne-Beton-Bunker mit 24/7 beheiztem Infinitypool ist meisten nicht nachhaltig, es sei denn du entscheidest dich für extra klassifizierte Eco Hotels. Ich möchte damit nicht sagen, dass du die letzte Absteige buchen solltest oder nur Eco-Lodges, aber ich finde ein gutes Mittelmaß ist angemessen.  Stelle dir folgende Fragen: Ist das Personal einheimisch? Läuft die Aircon die ganze Zeit? Wie wird in der Unterkunft gekocht, also nur importierte Güter oder auch lokale Gerichte? Solltest du dich für die Luxusvariante entscheiden, prüfe ob die Unterkünfte wirklich ausgezeichnet ist oder sich einfach nur „Eco“ nennt.

fresh fruits-support locals in philippines-

Dein Umgang mit Tieren

An vielen Orten dieser Welt sind Tiere Nutzgegenstände oder profitable für das Touristengeschäft. Jedes Freizeitangebot mit Tieren solltest du besonders sorgfältig begutachten, Recherche betreiben und Bewertungen lesen.  Bestes Beispiel für die Philippinen ist das Schwimmen mit Walhaien. Oslob auf Cebu ist am bekanntesten dafür, wird von mir aber keinesfalls empfohlen; nein ich rate sogar davon ab! Tiere werden angefüttert und berührt. Dutzende Boote fahren täglich raus, damit eine Vielzahl von Touristen mit Schwimmweste und GoPro ins Meer springen können. Nachhaltigere Alternative: Schwimmen mit Walhaien in Donsol.

Bei Touren auf und im Wasser gilt: Tiere, egal ob kleiner Fisch, Schildkröte oder großer Walhai, werden nicht angefasst, Korallen nicht berührt, abgebrochen  oder darauf gestanden! Das kann nicht nur zu schlimmen Infektionen führen, sondern verhindert was Wachsen der Korallen.

giant whaleshark

Ich hoffe, ich konnte dir ein paar hilfreiche Tips geben, so dass du bald etwas nachhaltiger auf Reisen gehen kannst.

 

Ich freue mich auf eure Kommentare und Feedback!

Alles Liebe,

eure Nathalie

5 Kommentare. Hinterlasse eine Antwort

  • Benutzerbild
    Bitabit

    Thanks for promoting philippines tourism and culture…let’s hope after pandemic that we can explore the new philippines.

    Antworten
    • Mabuhay Travel Club
      Mabuhay Travel Club

      yaay! yes, pleeeease 😀

      Antworten
  • Benutzerbild
    Raymond

    Nicely written and done my friend!
    I’ve just started writing a bpog myself recently and realized many people merely rework
    old content but add very little of benefit. It’s good to read aan infoprmative write-up
    of some true value to your readers and I.
    It’s on the lisst of things I need to replicate as a neww blogger.

    Audience engagement and content quality are king.
    Manny awesome ideas; you have absolutely managed to get on my list of blogs to watch!

    Continue the fantastiic work!
    Congratulations,
    Rodrigo

    My web blog Cellphone Imei Unlocking; http://latterdaysaintartswiki.org/index.php?title=User:ConnieBurd,

    Antworten
    • Mabuhay Travel Club
      Mabuhay Travel Club

      Hi Raymond!
      Thank you very much for your nicely comment. Means a lot to me and this is exactly my goal! Giving value to the people and making travelling to the Philippines more easy. Looking forward to hear from you!
      Next blogposts are in the pipeline and are just about the be released.
      Sending my best regards and stay healthy
      Nathalie

      Antworten
  • 这个不错耶,我喜欢!

    Antworten

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus.
Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus.
Bitte gib eine gültige E-Mail-Adresse ein.
Sie müssen den Bedingungen zustimmen, um fortzufahren

Menü
de_DEGerman