Moalboal, Cebu

Variety guaranteed

A small, lively place that offers a lot of variety: diving, snorkeling, canyoning, hiking and relaxation. No wonder that the place attracts many tourists. Moalboal is the perfect starting point to discover the west coast of Cebus.

In addition to the most beautiful waterfalls and the highest viewpoint of Cebu, holidaymakers discover unique dive sites, snorkel with huge shoals of sardines, relax on White Beach and experience adventurous hours while exploring the interior of Cebu.

Panagsama Beach

Most individual travelers and backpackers find accommodation near Panagsama Beach. It is known as the diving village of Moalboal. Panagsama Beach is rocky and rocky. It is less inviting to relax, but you will find the sardines run there. The swarms of sardines can be easily observed while snorkeling. they fform a unit and seem to stand in the water. Turtles and smaller sharks can also be spotted while snorkeling. In the small village around Panagsama Beach there are some diving centers, restaurants and bars.

White Beach

If you are looking for the typical white sandy beach, you will find it on White Beach. White Beach is 5 kilometers north of Moalboal. Some expensive and luxurious hotels have settled on White Beach. The White Beach is very popular, so it is usually very well attended and the prices are slightly higher.

Lambug Beach

Another little insider tip! Lambug Beach is about 30 minutes south of Moalboal by scooter towards Kawasan Falls. Few tourists come to this beach, so it is often deserted. The beach is white and goes gently into the clear water. A great alternative to the well-known White Beach!

Diving in Moalboal

Whether beginner or experienced. Moalboal offers the perfect dive for every diver. Up to 65 meters deep, views of up to 40 meters and pleasant temperatures around 26 degrees. Anyone visiting Moalboal in May and June has the chance to encounter whale sharks. The various dive spots are varied and are among the best in the Philippines. Popular spots include Marine Sanctuary, White Beach Point, Kasai Point, Panagsama Reef, Talisay Point, Tongo Sanctuary, and Sampaguita Point. The dives at Pescador Marine Park and Pescador Catheral are very special. Surrounded by a flat reef roof, Pescador Island rises from a deep sea ditch. Colorful coral gardens meet steeply sloping walls. Encounters with barakkuda flocks and sharks are not uncommon.

Kawasan Falls
Canyoneering

The Kawasan Falls are among the largest waterfalls in Cebu. A real adventure is a canyoning tour and should not be missed. The day trip takes you between gorges and cliffs, sometimes from a height of 15 meters into the cold, clear water. You let yourself be driven by the stream of water, roll down small waterfalls and swing on ropes into the cool water. An exciting and action-packed day in the midst of breathtaking nature. The rocks, cliffs and gorges around you are impressive. If you just want to see the Kawasan Falls, it's best to rent a scooter and visit the waterfalls without canyoning. Early arrival is worth it, as it can get very crowded from 9 a.m.

Osmenia Peak

The highest vantage point from Cebu is Osmenia Peak. The view extends over the hilly inland (which reminds of the Chocolate Hills of Bohol) to the open sea. The viewpoint can be reached after a 2 hour scooter ride from Moalboal. Some of the roads are in poor condition, which is why we only recommend experienced scooterists to travel there. Otherwise, a fixed price should be negotiated with a tricycle driver. In April and May, an increase in the Osmenia peak is particularly worthwhile at sunrise. In the winter months, however, it is very foggy, so a visit at sunset is more worthwhile.

The ascent takes about 20-30 minutes. The route is very well signposted, does not require a high level of fitness and can be done without a guide. If it rains, no hikes to Osmenia Peak should be done for safety reasons!

Arrival at Moalboal

Manila to Moalboal:
By plane from Manila (Ninoy Aquino International Airport) to Cebu - City (Mactan-Cebu International Airport)

Cebu City to Moalboal:
From the South Bus Terminal in Cebu, buses run every hour to Moalboal (Librando or Ceres Liner).
The trip by public bus takes 3-4 hours. You get a ticket depending on the bus class (Aircon or Non-Aircon) from 90 pesos.

If you are not from Cebu-City and would like to go directly from the airport to Moalboal, you can negotiate a private taxi ride for a fixed price. With a little bit of negotiation skills, you can get a private trip from 2,000 pesos (approx. 35 euros)

Itinerary: Best of Visayas

The Best of Visayas route takes you to Moalboal

Itinerary: Top of Philippines

The Top of Philippines route takes you to Moalboal

Menü
en_USEnglish

Moalboal, Cebu

Abwechslung garantiert

Ein kleiner, quirliger Ort der unglaublich viel Abwechslung bietet: Tauchen, Schnorcheln, Canyoneering, Wandern und Entspannung. Kein Wunder, dass der Ort viele Touristen anzieht. Moalboal ist der perfekte Ausgangspunkt, um die Westküste Cebus zu entdecken.

Neben den schönsten Wasserfällen und dem höchsten Aussichtspunkt von Cebu entdecken Urlauber einzigartige Tauchplätze, schnorcheln mit riesigen Sardinenschwärmen, entspannen am White Beach und erleben abenteuerliche Stunden beim Erkunden des Innenlands von Cebu.

Panagsama Beach

Die meisten Individualreisenden und Backpacker kommen in der Nähe vom Panagsama Beach unter. Es ist bekannt als das Taucherdorf von Moalboal. Der Panagsama Beach ist felsig und steinig. Er lädt weniger zum Relaxen ein, jedoch findet man dort den Sardines-Run. Die Sardinenschwärme können ganz einfach beim Schnorcheln beobachtet werden. Sie formatieren sich zu einer Einheit und scheinen im Wasser zu stehen. Auch Schildkröten und kleinere Haie können schon beim Schnorcheln entdeckt werden. Im kleinen Dorf rund um den Panagsama Beach gibt es einige Tauchbasen, Restaurants und Bars.

White Beach

Wer den typisch, weißen Sandstrand sucht, wird am White Beach fündig. Der White Beach liegt 5 Kilometer nördlich von Moalboal. Am White Beach haben sich einige teure und luxuriöse Hotels niedergelassen. Der White Beach ist sehr beliebt, daher ist er meistens sehr gut besucht und die Preise sind etwas erhöht.

Lambug Beach

Noch ein kleiner Geheimtipp! Der Lambug Beach liegt mit dem Roller etwa 30 Minuten südlich von Moalboal, in Richtung der Kawasan Falls. Nur wenige Touristen kommen an diesen Strand, daher ist er oft menschenleer. Der Strand ist weiß und geht seicht ins klare Wasser. Eine tolle Alternative zum bekannten White Beach!

Tauchen in Moalboal

Ob Anfänger oder Erfahrener. Moalboal bietet für jeden Taucher den perfekten Tauchgang. Bis zu 65 Meter tief, Sichtweisen von bis zu 40 Metern und angenehme Temperaturen um 26 Grad. Wer im Mai und Juni Moalboal besucht, hat die Chance,  Walhaien zu begegnen. Die verschiedenen Dive Spots sind abwechslungsreich und gehören zu den besten der Philippinen. Beliebt sind die Spots Marine Sanctuary, White Beach Point, Kasai Point, Panagsama Reef, Talisay Point, Tongo Sanctuary, und Sampaguita Point. Ganz besonders sind die Tauchgänge am Pescador Marine Park und Pescador Catheral. Umgeben von einem flachen Riffdach ragt Pescador Island aus einem tiefen Meeresgraben empor. Bunte Korallengärten treffen auf steil abfallende Wände. Begegnungen mit Barakkuda- Schwärmen und Haien sind keine Seltenheit.

Kawasan Falls
Canyoneering

Die Kawasan Falls gehören zu den größten Wasserfällen von Cebu. Ein wahrhaftiges Abenteuer ist eine Canyoneering  Tour und sollte auf keinen Fall ausgelassen werden. Auf dem Tagesausflug geht es zwischen Schluchten und Klippen, teilweise aus 15 Meter Höhe ins kalte, klare Wasser. Man lässt sich vom Strom des Wassers treiben, rollt kleine Wasserfälle hinab und schwingt sich an Seilen ins kühle Nass. Ein aufregender und actionreicher Tag inmitten atemberaubender Natur. Die Felsen, Klippen und Schluchten um einen herum sind beeindruckend.  Möchte man nur die Kawasan Falls sehen, mietet man sich am besten einen Roller und besucht die Wasserfälle ohne Canyoneering. Frühe Ankunft lohnt sich, da es ab 9 Uhr sehr voll werden kann.

Osmenia Peak

Der höchste Aussichtspunkte von Cebu ist der Osmenia Peak. Der Ausblick reicht über das hügelige Innenland (was an die Chocolate Hills von Bohol errinnert) bis hin zum offenen Meer. Den Aussichtspunkt erreicht man nach einer ca. 2 stündigen Rollerfahrt aus Moalboal. Die Straßen befinden sich teilweise in einem schlechten Zustand, weshalb wir nur erfahrenen Rollerfahrern eine eigene Anreise empfehlen.  Andernfalls sollte ein Festpreis mit einem Tricycle Fahrer verhandelt werden. In den Monaten April und Mai lohnt sich ein Anstieg des Osmenia Peaks besonders zum Sonnenaufgang. In den Wintermonaten hingegen ist es sehr nebelig, so dass sich ein Besuch zum Sonnenuntergang mehr lohnt.

Der Anstieg dauert circa 20 -30 Minuten. Der Weg ist sehr gut ausgeschildert, erfordert kein hohes Fitnesslevel und kann ohne Guide erfolgen. Wenn es regnet, sollte aus Sicherheitsgründen keine Wanderungen zum Osmenia Peak erfolgen!

Anreise Moalboal

Manila nach Moalboal:
Mit dem Flugzeug von Manila (Ninoy Aquino International Airport ) nach Cebu – City (Mactan-Cebu International Airport)

Cebu-City nach Moalboal:
Ab dem South Bus Terminal in Cebu fahren stündlich Busse nach Moalboal (Librando oder Ceres Liner).
Die Fahrt mit dem öffentlichen Bus dauert 3-4 Stunden. Ein Ticket erhält man ja nach Busklasse (Aircon oder Non-Aircon) ab 90 Pesos.

Wer nicht aus Cebu-City kommt und direkt vom Flughafen aus nach Moalboal möchte, kann eine private Taxifahrt zu einem Festpreis verhandeln.  Mit etwas Verhandlungsgeschick bekommt man eine private Fahrt ab 2.000 Pesos (ca. 35 Euro)

Reiseroute: Best of Visayas

Die Reiseroute Best of Visayas bringt Dich nach Moalboal

Reiseroute: Top of Philippines

Die Reiseroute Top of Philippines bringt Dich nach Moalboal

Menü
de_DEGerman