Coron

Crystal-clear lakes &
Wreck dives

In and around Coron, life takes place on or under water and is a must especially for divers and adventurers. Coron is the western part of Busuanga Island and belongs to Palawan with the city of the same name Coron Town.

Coron Town is the tourist center from which the inland can be discovered, diving trips and island hopping tours to crystal-clear lakes. In addition to the pristine underwater world, divers appreciate the exciting wreck dives to the 12 sunken Japanese warships from the Second World War.

Kayangan Lake

The boat trip from the mainland to the surrounding island world is stunning and seems surreal. The two lakes Kayangan Lake and the Twin Lagoon are unique. With its viewpoint, the Kayangan Lake is considered the jewel of Coron. It is one of the most photographed viewpoints in the Philippines. Pointed rock formations protrude from the crystal-clear water and you can only guess how many meters the rock walls reach below the sea level. In Kayangan Lake you swim in the clearest freshwater lake in Asia and dive along the wonderful rock formations.

Twin lagoon

Another main attraction when island hopping is visiting the Twin Lagoon. A place you definitely don't want to miss! The boat stops in the first lagoon and through a crevice with a small staircase you can reach the second lagoon. This entry point is a popular photo spot. Fresh and salt water meet in the lagoon, which makes the water shine and ensures small temperature differences.

Barracuda Lake

The Barracuda Lake, however, is subject to significant temperature fluctuations. This is particularly noticeable when freediving. That is why Barracuda Lake is also a very popular diving spot for divers. Less the fish, but the temperature difference and the bizarre underwater rock formations are the focus of a dive in Barracuda Lake.

Beach hopping

Those who prefer to relax on the beach with fresh coconuts under palm trees should visit the islands of Banana, Malcapuya & Bulog Dos Islands. These can also be visited on a booked tour or individually planned. All islands shine with powder-white beaches and heavenly water.

Maquinite Springs

The Maquinit Springs are not far from Coron Town. The hot springs have a temperature of over 30 degrees and are particularly popular in the evenings. The springs run along two small pools and a large pool. Just the thing after a long day of discovery.

Calauit Island

Calauit Island is not far from Coron and is by far the most unusual island in the Philippines. African animals such as giraffes, zebras and impalas have been living on Calauit Island since the 1970s. Within a few hours you can get from the exotic, Southeast Asian island world to the savannah of Africa. 

Wreck diving

South of Coron is Coron Bay. It is one of the most popular dive sites for wreck dives. Some of the best preserved wrecks in the world have been there since 1944.

Most shipwrecks lie at a depth of 18 to 25 meters, are overgrown with corals of all kinds and that is home to a diverse variety of marine life. Some wrecks lie vertically in the water and only a few meters below the surface of the sea and are therefore well suited for beginners. Other wreck dives are only for advanced divers to discover.

Expedition
cruise

An extraordinary three- or five-day expedition cruise leads through the wonderful island world between El Nido and Coron.
This adventurous cruise is certainly not for everyone. Among other things, a night camp is set up on lonely beaches and freshly caught fish is grilled over the campfire. But the adventures are rewarded amply: Far from civilization, remote islands that very few people will ever see in life.

Expedition cruise providers include:
El Nido Paradise
Tao Experience Palawan
Big Dream Boat Man
Keelooma
Buhay Isla

Arrival Coron

Manila according to Coron
From Manila there are direct flights several times a day to Busanga Island / Coron to Francisco B. Reyes Airport.

Coron Town can be reached in 40 minutes from the airport. Vans travel to Coron Town for a fixed price (PHP 150, approx. EUR 3) and bring the guests to the booked accommodation.

Cebu City according to Coron
There are selected direct flights from Cebu City as well as daily flights with a stopover in Manila to Busanga Island / Coron to Francisco B. Reyes Airport.

El Nido according to Coron
There are two ferries a day between El Nido and Coron. A "regular ferry" which takes 6 - 8 hours and a "fast ferry" which takes 3 - 5 hours. The "fast ferry" from Montengro Shipping leaves El Nido at 6:00 a.m. and arrives at Coron at 9:30 a.m. The travel time depends on the respective weather situation. One-way tickets are available from around 32 euros.
Air Swift offers a daily flight between Coron to El Nido. A one-way ticket costs around 70 euros and more. However, the flight only takes 40 minutes.

Itinerary: Palawan Special

The Palawan Special route takes you to Coron

Itinerary: Top of Philippines

The Top of Philippines route takes you to Coron

Itinerary: Deep Diving

The Deep Diving itinerary takes you to Coron for diving

Menü
en_USEnglish

Coron

Glasklare Seen &
Wrack Tauchgänge

In und um Coron spielt sich das Leben auf oder unter Wasser ab und ist besonders für Taucher und Abenteuerlustige ein Muss. Coron ist der westliche Teil von Busuanga Island und gehört mit der gleichnamigen Stadt Coron Town zu Palawan.

Coron Town ist das touristische Zentrum, von dem aus das Innenland entdeckt werden kann, die Tauchausflüge und Island hopping Touren zu glasklaren Seen starten. Taucher schätzen neben der unberührten Unterwasserwelt, die spannenden Wrack-Tauchgänge zu den insgesamt 12 versunkenen japanischen Kriegsschiffen aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg.

Kayangan Lake

Die Fahrt mit dem Boot vom Festland in die umliegende Inselwelt ist umwerfend und scheint surreal. Einmalig sind die beiden Seen Kayangan Lake und die Twin Lagoon. Der Kayangan See gilt mit seinem Aussichtspunkt als der Juwel von Coron. Es ist einer der meistfotografierten Aussichtspunkte der Philippinen. Spitze Felsformationen ragen aus dem glasklaren Wasser hervor und es lässt sich nur erahnen, wie viele Meter die Felswände unter dem Meeresspiegel weiter reichen. Im Kayangan Lake schwimmt man im klarsten Süßwassersee Asiens und taucht entlang der wundersamen Felsformationen.

Twin Lagoon

Eine weitere Hauptattraktion beim Island hopping ist der Besuch der Twin Lagoon. Ein Ort, den man ganz sicher nicht missen möchte! Das Boot hält in der ersten Lagune und durch einen Felsspalt mit kleiner Treppe erreicht man die zweite Lagune. Dieser Einstiegspunkt ist ein beliebter Fotospot. In der Lagune treffen Süß – und Salzwasser aufeinander, was das Wasser glänzen lässt und für kleine Temperaturunterschiede sorgt.

Barracuda Lake

Der Barracuda Lake unterliegt hingegen deutlichen Temperaturschwankungen. Dies wird besonders beim Freediving stark spürbar. Deswegen ist der Barracuda Lake auch bei Tauchern ein sehr beliebter Tauchspot. Weniger die Fische, sondern der Temperaturunterschied und die bizarren Unterwasserfelsformationen stehen bei einem Tauchgang im Barracuda Lake im Vordergrund.

Beach hopping

Wer lieber am Strand mit frischen Kokosnüssen unter Palmen relaxed, sollte die Inseln Banana, Malcapuya & Bulog Dos Islands besuchen. Diese lassen sich auch über eine gebucht Tour besuchen oder individuell planen. Alle Inseln erstrahlen mit puder-weißen Stränden und paradiesischem Wasser.

Maquinit Springs

Unweit von Coron Town befinden sich die Maquinit Springs. Die heißen Quellen haben eine Temperatur von über 30 Grad und sind besonders in den Abendstunden beliebt. Die Quellen ziehen sich entlang zweier kleiner Pools und einem großen Becken. Genau das richtige nach einem langen Tag voller Entdeckungen.

Calauit Island

Calauit Island liegt unweit von Coron und ist mit Abstand die ungewöhnlichste Insel der Philippinen. Seit den 70er Jahren leben auf Calauit Island afrikanische Tiere wie Giraffen, Zebras und Impalas. Innerhalb weniger Stunden gelangt man von der exotischen, südostasiatischen Inselwelt in die Savanne von Afrika. 

Wrack-tauchen

Südlich von Coron liegt die Coron Bay. Es ist eines der beliebtesten Tauchgebiete für Wracktauchgänge. Dort liegen seit 1944 einige der best erhaltenden Wracks der Welt.

Die meisten Schiffswracks liegen in 18 bis 25 Meter Tiefe, sind mit Korallen aller Art bewachsen und das zu Hause einer artenreichen Vielzahl von Meeresbewohnern. Einige Wracks liegen senkrecht im Wasser und nur wenige Meter unter der Meeresoberfläche und damit für Beginner gut geeignet. Andere Wracktauchgänge sind nur für Fortgeschrittene Taucher zu entdecken.

Expeditions-
kreuzfahrt

Eine außergewöhnliche drei- oder fünftägige Expeditionskreuzfahrt führt durch die traumhafte Inselwelt zwischen El Nido und Coron.
Diese abenteuerliche Kreuzfahrt ist aber sicherlich nicht für Jedermann geeignet. Unter anderem wird an einsamen Stränden ein Nachtlager aufgeschlagen und frisch gefangener Fisch über dem Lagerfeuer gegrillt. Dafür werden die Abenteuer aber reichlich belohnt: Weit weg von der Zivilisation, abgelegene Inseln die nur sehr wenige Menschen je im Leben zu Gesicht bekommen werden.

Anbieter für Expeditionskreuzfahrten sind u.A.
El Nido Paradise
Tao Experience Palawan
Big Dream Boat Man
Keelooma
Buhay Isla

Anreise Coron

Manila nach Coron
Ab Manila gibt es mehrmals täglich Direktflüge nach Busanga Island / Coron zum Francisco B. Reyes Airport.

Vom Flughafen aus erreicht man Coron Town innerhalb von 40 Minuten. Vans fahren zu einem Festpreis (150 PHP, ca. 3 EUR)  nach Coron Town und bringen die Gäste zur gebuchten Unterkunft.

Cebu-City nach Coron
Ab Cebu City gibt es ausgewählte Direktflüge sowie tägliche Flüge mit Zwischenstopp in Manila nach Busanga Island / Coron zum Francisco B. Reyes Airport.

El Nido nach Coron
Zwischen El Nido und Coron verkehren zwei Fähren täglich. Eine „regular Ferry“ die 6 – 8 Stunden braucht und eine „fast ferry“ die 3 – 5 Stunden benötigt. Die “fast ferry” von Montengro Shipping verlässt El Nido um 06:00 Uhr am Morgen und erreicht Coron laut Plan um 09:30 Uhr. Die Fahrtzeit hängt von der jeweiligen Wettersituation ab. One-Way Tickets gibt es ab circa 32 Euro.
Air Swift bietet täglich einen Flug zwischen Coron nach El Nido an. Ein One-Way Ticket kostet etwa 70 Euro und mehr. Der Flug dauert jedoch nur 40 Minuten.

Reiseroute: Palawan-Special

Die Reiseroute Palawan-Special bringt Dich nach Coron

Reiseroute: Top of Philippines

Die Reiseroute Top of Philippines bringt Dich nach Coron

Reiseroute: Deep Diving

Die Reiseroute Deep Diving bringt Dich zum Tauchen nach Coron

Menü
de_DEGerman