Country, people & culture

Hospitable, warm & open-minded

The inhabitants of the Philippines are called Filipinos. They like to call themselves Pinay or Pinoy.
It's hard not to like Filipinos. They are hospitable, open, open-minded and like to get in touch with travelers. This works particularly well since most of them speak very good English.

The Filipinos are culturally more like the West than other Southeast Asian countries. This is mainly due to the Spanish and American colonial times. Kindness, harmony, courtesy and good manners are particularly important values for the Filipinos. The family is particularly important.

In his spare time, Filipinos like to sing karaoke, play basketball and rehearse dance choreographies. Another part of the culture is cockfighting, where bets are placed.

Culture

The best way to immerse yourself in the Filipino culture is to choose locally run accommodations. The Filipinos are very hospitable and like to bring their culture closer to their guests. This is how you get to know Filipinos' life today. If you want to go on a little journey through time and still want to get to know the old traditions, customs and rituals from almost forgotten times, you should go to the North of the Philippines to travel. The indigenous people Igorot live there, including the Ifugao, Bontoc, Kalinga, Kankanai and Ibaloi. They still practice their customs, wear traditional clothing and worship their ancestors and nature spirits. Offerings and war dances are also still practiced. The peoples created the rice fields 2,000 years ago and still largely live from them.

Einheimische Filipina mit ihrem Kind ©Joey-Pilgrim via Unsplash
Ifugao Kultur © Philippine Department of Tourism

Events & festivals

Events and events reflect the culture and traditions, which is why it is important to take a look at the event calendar. The Sinulog Festival in Cebu-City takes place annually around the third weekend in January and is the largest and most important festival in the Philippines. If you are going to the north of the Philippines at the end of February, you definitely have to experience the Panagbenga (Flower Festival) Baguio City.

language

Tagalog is the national language of the Philippines. The official language is English.
The Filipinos also speak Tagalish, a mix of Tagalog and English.
Bisaya (also called Cebuano) is spoken predominantly in the Visayas. Bisaya is reminiscent of the Spanish language. Above all, the times and numbers were taken from the Spanish.
In total, there are more than 170 native languages in the Philippines.

religion

More than 80 % of the population are Catholics.
Almost 10% belong to other Christian churches.
Around 5 % are Muslims, most of whom live in the south of the country.

More about the population and history of the Philippines

The Philippines has 7,641 beautiful islands. Only about 880 islands are inhabited. The islands of Luzon in the north and Mindanao in the south are the largest islands in the Philippines and together cover almost two thirds of the land area.

There are more than 107 million people living in the Philippines. Almost 20 million of them live in and around the capital, Metro Manila. The population is very young with an average age of less than 23 years. This is mainly because Filipino families have an average of 6 children. The average life expectancy is around 71 years, which is why only 4 % of the population is older than 65 years.

The Philippines was a Spanish colony until 1898. The American colony period then followed. The Philippines gained independence in 1946. History still has an impact on religion, language and general life. The current system of government is a presidential democracy. The current president (since 2016) is Rodrigo Duterte. The president is elected every 6 years.

Menü
en_USEnglish

Land, Leute & Kultur

Gastfreundlich, herzlich & aufgeschlossen

Die Einwohner der Philippinen heißen Filipinos. Sie selbst bezeichnen sich gerne als Pinay oder Pinoy.
Es ist schwer Filipinos nicht zu mögen. Sie sind gastfreundlichen, offen, aufgeschlossen und treten gerne mit Reisenden in Kontakt. Das gelingt besonders gut, da die meisten sehr gutes Englisch sprechen.

Die Filipinos sind kulturell dem Westen ähnlicher als andere südostasiatische Länder. Das liegt vor allem an der spanischen und amerikanischen Kolonialzeit. Besonders wichtige Werte für die Filipinos sind Freundlichkeit, Harmonie, Höflichkeit und gutes Benehmen. Einen ganz besonders hohen Stellenwert nimmt die Familie ein.

In der Freizeit singen Filipinos gerne Karaoke, spielen Basketball und proben Tanzchoreografien ein. Was auch einen Teil der Kultur ausmacht sind Hahnenkämpfe, bei denen Wetten gesetzt werden.

Kultur

Am besten taucht man in die philippinische Kultur ein, indem man sich für lokal geführte Unterkünfte entscheidet. Die Filipinos sind sehr gastfreundlich und bringen ihren Gästen sehr gerne ihre Kultur näher. So lernt man das heutige Leben der Filipinos kennen. Wer sich auf eine kleine Zeitreise begeben möchte und noch die alten Traditionen, Bräuche und Rituale aus fast vergessenen Zeiten kennen lernen möchte, sollte in den Norden der Philippinen reisen. Dort lebt das indigene Volk Igorot, zu denen unter anderen auch die Ifugao, Bontoc, Kalinga, Kankanai und Ibaloi gehören. Sie praktizieren noch ihre Bräuche, tragen traditionelle Kleidung und verehren ihre Ahnen und Naturgeister. Auch Opfergaben und Kriegstänze werden noch praktiziert. Die Völker haben vor 2.000 Jahren die Reisfelder erschaffen und leben größtenteils auch noch von ihnen.

Einheimische Filipina mit ihrem Kind ©Joey-Pilgrim via Unsplash
Ifugao Kultur © Philippine Department of Tourism

Events & Festivals

Veranstaltungen und Events spiegeln die Kultur und Traditionen wieder, weshalb unbedingt ein Blick auf den Veranstaltungskalender geworfen werden solle. Das Sinulog Festival in Cebu-City findet jährlich um das dritte Januarwochenende statt und ist das größte und bedeutendste Fest auf den Philippinen. Wer sich Ende Februar in den Norden der Philippinen begibt, muss unbedingt das Panagbenga (Blumen Festival) Baguio City miterleben.

Sprache

Tagalog ist die Nationalsprache der Philippinen. Die Amtssprache ist Englisch.
Die Filipinos sprechen auch häufig Tagalish, ein Mix aus Tagalog und Englisch.
In den Visayas wird vorwiegend Bisaya (auch Cebuano genannt)  gesprochen. Bisaya erinnert an die spanische Sprache. Vor allem die Zeitangaben und Zahlen wurden aus dem Spanischen übernommen.
Insgesamt gibt es auf den Philippinen mehr als 170 einheimische Sprachen.

Religion

Mehr als 80 % der Bevölkerung sind Katholiken.
Knapp 10% gehören anderen christlichen Kirchen an.
Circa 5 % sind Muslime, wovon die meisten im Süden des Landes leben.

Mehr über die Bevölkerung und Geschichte der Philippinen

7.641 traumhafte Inseln zählen zu den Philippinen. Nur etwa 880 Inseln davon sind bewohnt. Die Inseln Luzon im Norden und Mindanao im Süden sind die größten Inseln der Philippinen und bedecken zusammen knapp zwei Drittel der Landfläche.

Es leben mehr als 107 Millionen Menschen auf den Philippinen. Davon leben knapp 20 Millionen Menschen in und um der Hauptstadt Metro Manila. Die Bevölkerung ist mit einem Durchschnittsalter von unter 23 Jahren sehr jung. Das liegt vor allem daran, dass philippinische Familien durchschnittlich 6 Kinder haben. Die durchschnittliche Lebenserwartung liegt bei etwa 71 Jahren, weshalb nur 4 % der Bevölkerung älter als 65 Jahre ist.

Die Philippinen waren bis 1898 eine spanische Kolonie. Anschließend folgte die Amerikanische Koloniezeit. 1946 erhielten die Philippinen Unabhängigkeit. Die Geschichte hat bis heute Einfluss auf Religion, Sprache und das allgemeine Leben. Das heutige Regierungssystem ist eine präsidentielle Demokratie. Aktueller Präsident (seit 2016) ist Rodrigo Duterte. Der Präsident wird alle 6 Jahre gewählt.

Menü
de_DEGerman