Donsol

Where a dream becomes reality:
Swimming with whale sharks

The giants of the sea

Whale sharks are the largest fish in the world. They can reach a length of 13 meters and weigh up to 12 tons. Whale sharks are not hunters, they swim comfortably through the water with their mouths open and ingest plankton. Encounters between humans and whale sharks are harmless, but care should be taken not to get too close to the giants. A fins rash of its size has a lot of strength and can quickly cause injuries to us little people. The largest sea creatures are unfortunately on the list of endangered species. Some countries, including China and Taiwan, still hunt whale sharks today as they are considered a delicacy.

Donsol: swimming with whale sharks in natural conditions

The small village of Donsol in the province of Sorsogon is original, green and familiar. Even if Donsol attracts more and more tourists, swimming with whale sharks is controlled, takes place under natural conditions and without feeding the animals. For a booked tour, a maximum of 6 people take part on one boat. A guide is on the lookout for whale sharks and when he sees one, the group jumps into the water under the supervision of the guide. By not feeding the animals, you can get close to the giants in a natural way. However, this also means that you have no guarantee of encountering a whale shark.

Tours are offered between November and June. The best chance to see several whale sharks in one day is between February and April. Sightings of up to 25 whale sharks have been reported.

Registrations for a tour are made at the Whale Shark Center in Donsol. The tour costs (as of July 2019) 3,500 pesos (63 euros) and is shared by the participants. With 6 people, a 3-hour tour costs 585 pesos. There is an additional fee of 300 pesos for tourists wishing to rent snorkeling equipment. Before the start of the tour, an information and behavioral video is shown.

Tourist crowds on whale shark hunting in Oslob

The most famous place in the Philippines to swim with whale sharks is Oslob. People flock to the small village on the west coast of Cebu every day. The experience of swimming with a whale shark is indescribable. However, you also want the animals to be well, right? Oslob has clearly made a name for himself. For the suffering of the gigantic sea creatures. We do not recommend an election meeting in Oslob. It quickly becomes clear that this is primarily about the fun of the tourists and therefore they have a nice photo on the underwater camera.
There is more of an uncontrolled mass tourism in Oslob. Numerous boats come out in the morning and feed the electoral sharks. The boats line up. Each boat is given a time window in which the tourists can then jump into the water. Touching the animals is forbidden, but very few take care of that. We don't want to diminish the experience with a whale shark, but we recommend Donsol as an alternative. There, the tourist attraction did not upset the natural rhythm of the animals.

Itinerary: Best of Visayas

The Best of Visayas itinerary takes you to Donsol to the whale sharks

Menü
en_USEnglish

Donsol

Wo ein Traum zur Wirklichkeit wird:
Schwimmen mit Walhaien

Die Giganten des Meeres

Walhaie sind die größten Fische der Welt. Sie können eine Länge von 13 Meter erreichen und bis zu 12 Tonnen wiegen. Walhaie sind keine Jäger, sie schwimmen gemütlich mit offenem Maul durch die Gewässer und nehmen so Plankton auf. Begegnungen zwischen Mensch und Walhai sind ungefährlich, nur sollte darauf Acht gegeben werden, nicht zu nah an die Giganten zu kommen. Ein Flossenausschlag bei seinem Ausmaß hat sehr viel Kraft und kann schnell zu Verletzungen bei uns kleinen Menschen führen. Die größten Meeresbewohner sind leider auf der Liste von bedrohten Tierarten zu finden. Einige Länder, darunter China und Taiwan, jagen noch heute Walhaie, da sie als Delikatesse gelten.

Donsol: Schwimmen mit Walhaien unter natürlichen Bedingungen

Das kleine Dorf Donsol in der Provinz Sorsogon ist ursprünglich, grün und familiär. Auch wenn Donsol immer mehr Touristen anzieht, wird das Schwimmen mit Walhaien kontrolliert, findet unter natürlichen Bedingungen und ohne Anfüttern der Tiere statt. Bei einer gebuchten Tour nehmen maximal 6 Personen auf einem Boot teil. Ein Guide hält Ausschau nach Walhaien und wenn er einen sichtet, springt die Gruppe unter Aufsicht des Guides ins Wasser. Dadurch, dass die Tiere nicht angefüttert werden, kann man auf natürliche Weise den Giganten nah kommen. Was jedoch auch heißt, dass man keine Garantie hat einem Walhai zu begegnen.

Zwischen November und Juni werden Touren angeboten. Die größte Chance mehrere Walhaie an einem Tag zu sehen ist zwischen Februar und April. In der Zeit wird von Sichtungen von bis zu 25 Walhaien berichtet.

Anmeldungen für eine Tour erfolgen im Whale Shark Center in Donsol. Die Tour kostet (Stand Juli 2019) 3.500 Pesos (63 Euro) und wird durch die Teilnehmer geteilt. Bei 6 Personen kostet eine 3-stündige Tour 585 Pesos. Es wird eine zusätzliche Gebühr von 300 Pesos für Touristen erhoben, die eine Schnorchelausrüstung ausleihen möchten. Vor dem Start der Tour wird ein Informations- und Verhaltensregel Video gezeigt.

Touristenmassen auf Walhai-Jagd in Oslob

Der bekannteste Ort auf den Philippinen um mit Walhaien zu schwimmen ist Oslob. Täglich strömen Menschen in das kleine Dorf an der Westküste von Cebu. Das Erlebnis mit einem Walhai zu schwimmen ist unbeschreiblich. Jedoch möchte man doch auch, dass es den Tieren gut geht, oder? Oslob hat sich eindeutig einen Namen gemacht. Zum Leiden der gigantischen Meeresbewohner. Wir raten von einer Wahlhei Begegnung in Oslob ab. Schnell wird klar, dass es sich hier in erster Linie um den Spaß der Touristen dreht und damit diese ein schönes Foto auf der Unterwasserkamera haben.
In Oslob herrscht eher ein unkontrollierter Massentourismus. Morgens fahren zahlreiche Boote raus und füttern die Wahlhaie an. Die Boote reihen sich ein. Jedes Boot erhält ein Zeitfenster, in dem die Touristen dann ins Wasser springen dürfen. Anfassen der Tiere ist verboten, aber darum kümmern sich die wenigsten. Wir wollen das Erlebnis mit einem Walhai auf keinen Fall mindern, jedoch legen wir Dir Donsol als Alternative ans Herz. Dort hat die Touristenattraktion den natürlichen Rhythmus der Tiere nicht aus dem Gleichgewicht gebracht.

Reiseroute: Best of Visayas

Die Reiseroute Best of Visayas bringt dich nach Donsol zu den Walhaien

Menü
de_DEGerman