Palawan

The west of the Philippines

Bizarre rock formations and heavenly beaches

With more than 1,500 small side islands, the island of Palawan is the largest scenic diversity in the Philippines. It is not for nothing that Palawan is called one of the most beautiful islands in the world. When creating this dream island, nature left nothing out: white sandy beaches, crystal clear lagoons, lakes and picturesque bays. Unique coral gardens, surrounded by the dense jungle, rugged and bizarre rock formations and huge cave systems make Palawan an exotic and unique destination.

Holidaymakers can also explore the world's longest underground river here. Some places on Palawan have already become tourist strongholds, others are still real insider tips or are far away from modern civilization. Whether sun worshipers, divers or nature lovers - everyone will find their perfect place on Palawan.

Subterranean-River-Nationalpark ©Philippine Department of Tourism 

Puerto Princesa

Puerto Princesa, the capital of Palwan, is considered the cleanest and greenest city in the Philippines. The small town is the starting point to explore the island. A few days in the city and the surrounding area should not be missing on the respective travel route. The highlight is the Underground River in the Subterranean River National Park, the longest underground river in the world. In Puerto Princesa City you can also experience first-class island hopping, feasting along Rizal Ave, ending the evening on the Baywalk and enjoying delicious, fresh fish and grilled seafood.

aerial view auf el nido town mit taraw peak

El Nido

The surrounding islands in the Bacuit archipelago and the unique island hopping tours are what make El Nido so special and one of the most popular destinations in the Philippines. A colorful underwater world, dream beaches like from a picture book and huge limestone formations protruding from crystal clear water are waiting for you. Those who prefer lonely beaches should definitely visit the neighboring beaches with a scooter. Once a small fishing village, today there are numerous accommodations in and around El Nido, many bars and restaurants on the beach, where you can celebrate in a lively manner.

Kayak beim Sonnenaufgang in Palawan - Philippine DOT © James Relf Dyer

Port barton

The small village of Port Barton is located between El Nido and Puerto Princesa. It's still very slow there. A mix of Filipino country life and a thriving hippie village on the beach hits the spot. Tourism is slowly starting to grow. Some would call Port Barton the next El Nido. Iceland hopping of superlatives, but no trace of mass tourism. The longing for relaxed and quiet vacation days is certainly satisfied in hammocks with a view of the sea. In the evening there is reggae music in some beach bars. There are no big parties here. Tourists appreciate the simplicity and remoteness of Port Barton. The small town consists of only a few sandy paths, a church, a basketball court, some accommodations and very good restaurants.

Coron Aussichtspunkt auf die Lagune beim Island hopping

Coron

In and around Coron, life takes place on or under water and is a must especially for divers and adventurers. Coron is the western part of Busuanga Island and belongs to Palawan with the city of the same name Coron Town. Coron Town is the tourist center from which the inland can be discovered, diving trips and island hopping tours to crystal-clear lakes. In addition to the pristine underwater world, divers appreciate the exciting wreck dives to the 12 sunken Japanese warships from the Second World War.

Menü
en_USEnglish

Palawan

Der Westen der Philippinen

Bizarre Felsformationen und paradiesische Strände

Die Insel Palawan bildet mit ihren mehr als 1.500 kleinen Nebeninseln die größte landschaftliche Vielfalt der Philippinen. Nicht umsonst wird Palawan als eine der schönsten Inseln der Welt betitelt. Bei der Erschaffung dieser Trauminsel hat die Natur nichts ausgelassen: Weiße Sandstrände, glasklare Lagunen, Seen und malerische Buchten. Einzigartige Korallengärten, umgeben vom dichten Dschungel, schroffen und bizarren Felsformationen und riesigen Höhlensystemen machen Palawan zu einem exotischen und einmaligen Ziel.

Auch den längsten unterirdischen Fluss der Welt können Urlauber hier erkunden. Einige Orte auf Palawan sind bereits zu touristischen Hochburgen geworden, andere sind noch richtige Geheimtipps oder liegen fernab der modernen Zivilisation. Ob Sonnenanbeter, Taucher oder Naturliebhaber –  jeder findet auf Palawan sein perfektes Plätzchen.

Subterranean-River-Nationalpark ©Philippine Department of Tourism 

Puerto Princesa

Puerto Princesa, die Hauptstadt Palwans, gilt als sauberste und grünste Stadt der Philippinen. Die Kleinstadt ist Ausgangspunkt um die Insel zu erkunden. Dabei sollten einige Tage in der Stadt und in der Umgebung auf der jeweiligen Reiseroute nicht fehlen. Das Highlight ist der Underground River im Subterranean River Nationalpark, der längste unterirdische Fluss der Welt. In Puerto Princesa Stadt erlebt man auch erstklassiges Island-hopping, schlemmt sich entlang der Rizal Ave, lässt den Abend am Baywalk ausklingen und genießt köstlich, frischen Fisch und gegrillte Meeresfrüchte.

aerial view auf el nido town mit taraw peak

El Nido

Die umliegenden Inseln im Bacuit-Archipel und die einzigartigen Island hopping Touren sind das, was El Nido auszeichnet und zu einer der beliebtesten Destination auf den Philippinen macht. Es warten eine bunte Unterwasserwelt, Traumstrände wie aus dem Bilderbuch und riesige Kalksteinformationen die aus kristallklarem Wasser ragen auf Dich. Wen es zu einsameren Stränden zieht, sollte unbedingt mit einem Roller die angrenzenden Strände besuchen. Einst ein kleines Fischerdorf, gibt es heutzutage zahlreiche Unterkünfte in und um El Nido, viele Bars und Restaurants am Strand, in denen ausschweifend gefeiert werden kann.

Kayak beim Sonnenaufgang in Palawan - Philippine DOT © James Relf Dyer

Port Barton

Zwischen El Nido und Puerto Princesa liegt das kleine Dorf Port Barton. Dort geht es noch sehr langsam zu. Ein Mix aus philippinischem Landleben und aufblühendem Hippiedorf am Strand trifft es ganz gut. Der Tourismus fängt langsam an zu wachsen. Manch einer würde Port Barton als das nächste El Nido betiteln. Island hopping der Superlative, aber von Massentourismus keine Spur. Die Sehnsucht nach entspannten und ruhigen Urlaubstagen wird in Hängematten mit Blick aufs Meer ganz sicher gestillt. Abends gibt es in einigen Strandbars Reggae-Musik. Große Partys gibt es hier nicht. Die Touristen schätzen die Einfachheit und Abgelegenheit von Port Barton. Der kleine Ort besteht nur aus wenigen Sandwegen, einer Kirche, einem Basketballplatz, einigen Unterkünften und ausgesprochen guter Restaurants.

Coron Aussichtspunkt auf die Lagune beim Island hopping

Coron

In und um Coron spielt sich das Leben auf oder unter Wasser ab und ist besonders für Taucher und Abenteuerlustige ein Muss. Coron ist der westliche Teil von Busuanga Island und gehört mit der gleichnamigen Stadt Coron Town zu Palawan. Coron Town ist das touristische Zentrum, von dem aus das Innenland entdeckt werden kann, die Tauchausflüge und Island hopping Touren zu glasklaren Seen starten. Taucher schätzen neben der unberührten Unterwasserwelt, die spannenden Wrack-Tauchgänge zu den insgesamt 12 versunkenen japanischen Kriegsschiffen aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg.

Menü
de_DEGerman