North Luzon

Banaue, Batad, Sagada & Baguio

People of the heavenly world

In the mountain province of Ifugao, about 300 kilometers north of Manila, are the world-famous and huge rice terraces of the Philippines. These cover an area of 250 square kilometers. The "people of the heavenly world" live in the mountain provinces. With simple tools, you built the steep, multi-storey rice terraces "Steps to Heaven" 2,000 years ago. The Ifugaos still live very modestly, often in traditional Nipa houses, a hut built on wooden stilts. People keep their old customs and rituals as well as old ceremonies and often wear traditional, colorful clothes.

Waterfalls, hot springs and rushing rivers are hidden between the green rice fields of Banaue and Batad. In addition to the UNESCO-designated rice terraces, northern Luzon is home to numerous sights such as the “hanging coffins” and huge limestone caves that fascinate particularly active nature and culture lovers.

UNESCO rice terraces

Around Banaue are the impressive, majestic rice terraces of the Philippines. The terraces are among the most beautiful in the world. Banaue is surrounded by the green, rice-strewn mountains that house picturesque rivers and hot springs. The sight is spectacular, especially from the Banaue View Point over the rice terraces. In the village there are museums that tell the culture and history of the Ifugao, souvenir shops, a market place and small shops where traditional fabrics, jewelry and handicrafts can be bought.

Hapao hot spring

The village of Hapao is located southwest of Banaue. In addition to rice fields and the picturesque valley, there is the natural hot spring of Hapao (Hapao Hot Spring). It is still a little insider tip and a visit is highly recommended. In addition to the hot spring, there is a cold river where you can treat yourself to a refreshing cool down. A great wellness hour after hiking.

Batad rice lawn

A bit further east of Banaue are the Batad rice terraces. The sight of the Batad rice terraces is by far the most impressive. It looks like a gigantic amphitheater made of rice fields. The hikes through the seemingly endless rice fields are breathtaking and unique. The atmosphere cannot be described in words. The planting usually takes place in January, so a visit to the rice terraces is most beautiful from March to the end of May. Then the rice is still young and bright green.

Tappiya waterfall

Behind the Batad rice terraces, hundreds of steps lead down to the 30-meter-high Tappiya Waterfall. The effort is rewarded with a refreshing dip at the waterfall. On the way back, treat yourself to a coconut and hike through the rice terraces back to the starting point.

Mountain Province - mountain village Sagada

The mountain village of Sagada in the Mountain Province is a very popular holiday destination with local tourists and is looking forward to growing tourism. There are a variety of different activities, small cafés and hip restaurants around Sagada. Sagada is known for the hanging coffins, an ancient, traditional way of burial

die hängenden särge von sagada im höhleneingang

Lumiang cave & Sumaguing cave

Another highlight are the huge limestone caves of Sagada. The most famous caves are the Lumiang Cave and Sumaguing Cave. Both can be explored with a guide and in a small group. There is also a variant, the Cave Connection, in which both caves are visited because they are connected to each other. A huge adventure where you not only climb through the cave, but also encounter bats and underground waterfalls.

Marlboro Hills (Kamanbaneng Peak)

On the other hand, if you get up early in the morning, you will experience an unforgettable sunrise over the sea of clouds on the summit of the Marlboro Hills (Kamanbaneng Peak) after a one-hour hike. It is a relatively easy climb and the 360 Gard panoramic view over the mountain province is fabulously beautiful.

Baguio, the summer city of the Philippines

Baguio City is about 250 kilometers north of Manila and is known as the "Summer Stand of the Philippines". When it gets very hot in the summer months, it is pleasantly warm in the mountain town in the province of Benguet. Baguio is 1500m above sea level and is the highest city in the Philippines.

See mit Booten im Burnham Park in Baguio

Baguio City

The blooming botanical garden, Burnham Park and Wright Park invite you to linger. The most photographed attraction is the rose-colored Catholic Cathedral and the Lion Head, a sandstone structure created in the 1970s. A stone's throw from Baguio you will find "The Colors of Stobosa", brightly painted houses along a sloping slope. Because Baguio has a much cooler climate than the rest of the Philippines, there are also a variety of strawberry fields that can be visited.

Baguio Flower Festival

The Baguio Flower Festival (Panagbena Festival, which means flowering time) is a one-month event that always takes place in February. Daily events and parades with the most beautiful and unusual flowers invite you to experience the history, tradition and values of Baguio.

How to get to North Luzon

The journey through the mountains of Luzon is spectacular and unique. Along the mountain slopes, the serpentine roads lead past rice fields with a view of the surrounding valleys. Sufficient time should be planned as the journey takes between 5 and 10 hours depending on the destination.

Manila to Banaue
Several buses run daily from Northern Manila to Manila.
The closest bus terminal from Manila is in Sampaloc.
Goes there OHAYAMI TRANS to Banaue. The night bus takes about 9 hours from Manila to Banaue. A ticket costs around 9 euros.

Other buses run from Cubao (Quezon City) and Pasay City to Banaue, Sagada and Baguio:
Coda lines
Viytory liner
genesis
JoyBus

Itinerary: Northern Adventure

The Northern Adventure itinerary takes you from Manila to Banaue, Batad, Sagada and Baguio.

Menü
en_USEnglish

Nord Luzon

Banaue, Batad, Sagada & Baguio

Menschen der Himmelswelten

In der Bergprovinz Ifugao, circa 300 Kilometer nördlich von Manila, befinden sich die weltberühmten und riesigen Reisterrassen der Philippinen. Diese erstrecken sich auf einem Gebiet von 250 Quadratkilometern. In den Bergprovinzen leben die „Menschen der Himmelswelt“. Sie haben mit einfachem Werkzeug die steilen und mehrstöckigen Reisterrassen „Stufen zum Himmel“ vor 2.000 Jahren erbauten. Die Ifugaos leben noch heute sehr bescheiden, oftmals in traditionellen Nipa Häusern,  eine auf Holzstelzen erbaute Hütte. Die Menschen bewahren ihre alten Bräuche und Rituale sowie alte Zeremonien und tragen häufig traditionelle, bunte Kleidung.

Zwischen den grünen Reisfelder von Banaue und Batad verstecken sich Wasserfälle, heiße Quellen und rauschende Flüsse. Der Norden Luzons beherbergt neben den von der UNESCO ernannten Reisterrassen zahlreiche Sehenswürdigkeiten wie die “hängenden Särge” und riesige Kalksteinhöhlen, die besonders aktive Natur- und Kulturliebhaber faszinieren.

UNESCO Reisterrassen

Um Banaue befinden sich die beeindruckenden, majestätischen Reisterrassen der Philippinen. Die Terrassen zählen zu den schönsten auf der ganzen Welt. Banaue ist umgeben von den grünen, mit Reis übersäten Bergen, die malerische Flüsse und heiße Quellen beherbergen. Der Anblick ist spektakulär, besonders vom Banaue View Point über die Reisterrassen. Im Dorf gibt es Museen, welche die Kultur und Geschichte der Ifugao erzählen, Souvenirläden,  einen Marktplatz und kleine Shops in denen traditionelle Stoffe, Schmuck und Handwerkskunst gekauft werden können.

Hapao Hot Spring

Das Dorf Hapao liegt südwestlich von Banaue. Neben Reisfeldern und dem malerischen Tal gibt es dort die natürliche heiße Quelle von Hapao (Hapao Hot Spring). Es ist noch ein kleiner Geheimtipp und ein Besuch ist sehr zu empfehlen. Neben der heißen Quelle fließt ein kalter Fluss, in dem sich auch eine erfrischende Abkühlung gegönnt werden kann. Eine tolle Wellnessstunde nach dem Wandern.

Batad Reisterrasen

Ein Stück weiter östlich von Banaue befinden sich die Reisterassen von Batad. Der Anblick der Batad Reisterrassen ist mit Abstand der eindrucksvollste. Es sieht aus wie ein gigantisches Amphitheater aus Reisfeldern. Die Wanderungen durch die schier endlos scheinenden Reisfelder ist atemberaubend und einzigartig. Die Atmosphäre ist mit Worten nicht zu beschreiben. Die Bepflanzung findet meist im Januar statt, so dass ein Besuch der Reisterrassen ab März bis Ende Mai am schönsten ist. Dann ist  der Reis noch jung und leuchtend grün.

Tappiya Wasserfall

Hinter den Reisterrassen von Batad führen hunderte von Stufen zum 30 Meter hohen Tappiya Waterfall hinunter. Die Anstrengung wird mit einem erfrischenden Bad beim Wasserfall belohnt. Auf dem Rückweg gönnt man sich dann noch eine Kokusnuss und wandern durch die Reisterrassen wieder zurück zum Ausgangspunkt.

Mountain Province - Bergdorf Sagada

Das Bergdorf Sagada in der Mountain Province ist bei einheimischen Touristen ein sehr beliebter Urlaubsort und freut sich über wachsenden Tourismus. Rund um Sagada gibt es eine Vielzahl an unterschiedlichen Aktivitäten, kleine Cafés und hippe Restaurants. Sagada ist bekannt für die hängenden Särge, hanging coffins, einer uralten, traditionellen Art der Bestattung

die hängenden särge von sagada im höhleneingang

Lumiang Höhle & Sumaguing Höhle

Ein weiteres Highlight sind die riesigen Kalksteinhöhlen von Sagada.  Die bekanntesten Höhlen sind die Lumiang Cave und Sumaguing Cave.  Beide kann man mit einem Guide und in kleiner Gruppe erkunden. Es gibt auch eine Variante, die Cave Connection, bei der beide Höhlen besucht werden, denn sie sind mit einander verbunden. Ein riesen Abenteuer bei dem man nicht nur durch die Höhle klettert, sondern auch auf Fledermäuse und unterirdische Wasserfälle trifft.

Marlboro Hills (Kamanbaneng Peak)

Wer sich hingegen in den frühen Morgenstunden aufmacht, erlebt nach einer einstündiger Wanderung einen unvergesslichen Sonnenaufgang über dem Wolkenmeer auf dem Gipfel der Marlboro Hills (Kamanbaneng Peak). Es ist ein relativ einfacher Anstieg und der 360 Gard Panoramaausblick über die Bergprovinz ist sagenhaft schön.

Baguio, die Sommerstadt der Philippinen

Baguio City liegt etwa 250 Kilometer nördlich von Manila und ist bekannt als die „Sommerstand der Philippinen“. Wenn es in den Sommermonaten sehr heiß wird, ist es in der Gebirgsstadt in der Provinz Benguet angenehm warm. Baguio liegt 1500m über dem Meeresspiegel und ist die am höchsten gelegene Stadt der Philippinen.

See mit Booten im Burnham Park in Baguio

Baguio City

Der blühende Botanischen Garten, der Burnham Park und Wright Park laden zum Verweilen ein.  Die meist fotografierte Sehenswürdigkeit ist die rosé farbende katholische Kathedrale und der Lion Head, ein in den 70er Jahren erschaffenes Bauwerk aus Sandstein. Ein Katzensprung von Baguio entfernt,  findest Du „The Colors of Stobosa“, bunt bemalte Häuser entlang eines abfallenden Hangs. Dadurch, dass Baguio ein weitaus kühleres Klima als der Rest der Philippinen aufweist, gibt es auch eine Vielzahl an Erdbeerfeldern, die besucht werden können.

Baguio Flower Festival

Das Baguio Flower Festival (Panagbena Festival was übersetzt Blütezeit heißt) ist ein einmonatiges Event, welches immer im Februar stattfindet. Tägliche Events und Paraden mit den schönsten und ungewöhnlichsten Blumen laden ein, die Geschichte, Tradition und Werte von Baguio zu erleben.

Anreise Nord Luzon

Die Reise durch die Bergwelt Luzons ist spektakulär und einzigartig. Entlang der Berghänge führen die schlangenförmige Straßen vorbei an Reisfeldern mit Blick auf die umliegenden Täler. Es sollte ausreichend Zeit eingeplant werden, da die Anreise je nach Destination zwischen 5 und 10 Stunden dauert.

Manila nach Banaue
Von Manila fahren täglich mehrere Busse in den Norden Luzons.
Das von Manila-Stadt aus nächstgelegene Busterminal befindet sich in Sampaloc.
Vor dort fährt OHAYAMI TRANS nach Banaue. Der Nachtbus benötigt etwa 9 Stunden von Manila nach Banaue. Ein Ticket kostet etwa 9 Euro.

Weitere Busse fahren ab Cubao (Quezon City) und Pasay City nach Banaue, Sagada und Baguio:
Coda Lines
Viytory Liner
Genesis
JoyBus

Reiseroute: Northern Adventure

Die Reiseroute Northern Adventure bringt dich von Manila nach Banaue, Batad, Sagada und Baguio.

Menü
de_DEGerman