Mindanao

The south of the Philippines

Hip surfer island and a real insider tip

Mindanao is the southern, second largest island in the Philippines. More and more tourists visit the booming island of Siargao to surf the famous surf sport Cloud 9 or explore the small island of Camiguin, which is still a real insider tip. These islands in the north of Mindanao can be visited without any concerns.

However, there are large regional contrasts in Mindanao. The south and west are less developed for tourism and there is a travel warning for some regions.

Luftaufnahme Cloud 9 Siargao @Joel-Vodell

Siargao

In northeastern Mindanao, the famous waves break at "Cloud 9" on the surfer island of Siargao. In addition to first-class surfing, Siargao offers unique island hopping and a picturesque landscape dotted with palm trees and national parks with turquoise lagoons. Vegan and hip restaurants bustle together. Nevertheless, life is still relaxed and relaxed. There is an authentic island life entirely in the surfer style, hang-loose! The further north you drive, the less tourism there is. There are no shopping malls on the whole island, and there is no public transport. Either scooters are rented or tricycles are ridden.

White Island bei Camiguin

Camiguin

The small volcanic island of Camiguin is considered an insider tip in the Philippines and enchants nature lovers and snorkelers in particular. Black lava beaches, colorful coral gardens, waterfalls and hot and cold springs are on the program here. Camiguin is located north of the Mindanao coast and is also known as the Galapagos of Southeast Asia.

 

Menü
en_USEnglish

Mindanao

Der Süden der Philippinen

Hippe Surferinsel und ein echter Geheimtipp

Mindanao ist die südliche, zweitgrößte Insel der Philippinen. Immer mehr Touristen besuchen die boomende Insel Siargao, um am berühmten Surfsport Cloud 9 zu surfen oder erkunden die kleine Insel Camiguin, die noch als echter Geheimtipp gilt. Diese Inseln im Norden von Mindanao kann man ohne jegliche Bedenken bereisen.

Es bestehen jedoch große regionale Gegensätze auf Mindanao. Der Süden und Westen ist touristisch wenig erschlossen und es herrscht eine Reisewarnung für einige Regionen.

Luftaufnahme Cloud 9 Siargao @Joel-Vodell

Siargao

Im Nordosten Mindanaos brechen die berühmten Wellen am „Cloud 9“ auf der Surferinsel Siargao. Neben erstklassigem Surf bietet Siargao einzigartiges Island Hopping und eine malerische Landschaft übersät mit Palmen und Nationalparks mit türkisen Lagunen. Vegane und hippe Restaurants  tummeln sich aneinander. Trotzdem wird das Leben noch locker und entspannt gelebt. Es herrscht ein authentisches Inselleben ganz dem Surfer-Style, Hang-loose!  Je weiter nördlich man fährt, desto weniger Tourismus herrscht. Auf der ganzen Insel gibt es weder Shopping Malls, noch einen öffentlichen Nahverkehr. Entweder werden Roller gemietet oder es wird Tricycle gefahren.

White Island bei Camiguin

Camiguin

Die kleine Vulkaninsel Camiguin gilt als Geheimtipp der Philippinen und verzaubert vor allem Naturliebhaber und Schnorchler. Schwarze Lavastrände, bunte Korallengärten, Wasserfälle sowie heiße und kalte Quellen stehen hier auf dem Programm. Camiguin liegt nördlich vor der Küste Mindanaos und wird auch als das Galapagos von Südostasien bezeichnet.

 

Menü
de_DEGerman