Manila

The vibrant capital

Metro Manila is the capital and the political, economic and industrial center of the Philippines. The metropolis is located in central Luzon, in the north of the Philippines and is the most populous city with more than 12 million people. Due to the international airport, Manila is often used as the starting point for a round trip ...

..At the same time, Manila tells the multifaceted history of the Philippines, shaped by historical buildings and attractive contrasts. The pulsating metropolis is surrounded by volcanic landscapes, mountains and tropical forests and is an excellent starting point for active day trips into the countryside ...

Intramuros

The city behind walls
In 1571 the fortress city was built under Spanish colonial rule. The walls were supposed to protect mansions and churches. Parts of this wall were destroyed during the Second World War. The complex has been restored and so many historic buildings can still be found today. Today Intramuros stands for an educational center with schools and universities.

Fort Santiago fortress

Particularly noteworthy is the Fort Santiago fortress, from which the Bay of Manila was protected, and the San Augustin Church, which was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1933.

Rizal Park

Rizal Park is not only an attraction for tourists, but also very popular with the locals. The park is named after the freedom fighter Josè Rizal, who was shot by the Spaniards on this square. The park is located in hectic Manila and offers a place for rest, peace and relaxation. There are also several museums in the immediate vicinity.

Manila Baywalk

The entire waterfront was cleaned in early 2019. The cobbled promenade invites you to romantic walks at sunset. Filipinos are also bustling on the Manila Baywalk, enjoying the evening sun and ending the day.

Makati financial center

Makati is the most modern district. Most banks and financial companies are located there. Skyscrapers made of glass, noble villas, extraordinary and huge shopping malls are at home in Makati. The skyline is brightly lit at night. Restaurants and bars invite you to go out.

Pasay City

Pasay City is the stronghold for Filipino art and culture. The Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) stands for the cultural development of the Southeast Asian country and the Philippine Museum of Ethnology shows the history and culture of the Filipino peoples. 

Taal Volcano National Park

The Taal volcano is one of the most active volcanoes in the Philippines and particularly popular with hikers. It is located 50 kilometers south of Manila, near Tagaty City, and can be visited on a day trip. The volcano itself lies on an island, which in turn lies in a lake. Arriving early is worth it so that you can escape the hot midday sun.

Pagsanjan Falls

100 kilometers southeast of Manila near the city of Santa Cruz is the Pagsanjan waterfall in the idyllic rainforest and can only be reached by boat. More specifically, with a dugout boat. The boat trip over power points can be refreshing and guarantees a real adventure. Individual arrival can be made from Manila by bus and jeepney. To avoid the flow of tourists, it is advisable to start in Manila at 7 a.m. The tour costs around 660 pesos. The excursion should only be booked at signposted boat docks and official providers.

Menü
en_USEnglish

Manila

Die pulsierende Hauptstadt

Metro Manila ist die Hauptstadt und das politische, wirtschaftliche und industrielle Zentrum der Philippinen. Die Metropole liegt in Zentral-Luzon, im Norden der Philippinen und ist mit mehr als 12 Millionen Menschen die bevölkerungsreichste Stadt. Durch den internationalen Airport wird Manila häufig als Ausgangspunkt einer Rundreise angesteuert…

..Dabei erzählt Manila, geprägt von historischen Bauwerken und sich anziehenden Gegensätzen, die vielschichtige Geschichte der Philippinen. Dazu ist die pulsierende Metropole von Vulkanlandschaften, Bergen und Tropenwäldern umgeben und ist hervorragender Startpunkt für aktive Tagesausflüge ins Grüne…

Intramuros

Die Stadt hinter Mauern
Im Jahr 1571 entstand unter spanischer Kolonialherrschaft die Festungsstadt. Die Mauern sollten Herrschaftshäuser und Kirchen schützen. Während des Zweiten Weltkriegs wurden Teile dieser Mauer zerstört. Die Anlage wurde restauriert und so sind noch heute viele historische Bauten zu finden. Heute steht Intramuros für ein Bildungszentrum mit Schulen und Universitäten.

Festung Fort Santiago

Besonders sehenswert ist die Festung Fort Santiago, von der aus die Bucht von Manila geschützt wurde, und die 1933 von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärte Kirche, San Augustin.

Rizal Park

Der Rizal Park ist nicht nur für Touristen eine Attraktion, sondern auch bei den Einheimischen sehr beliebt. Der Park ist benannt nach dem Freiheitskämpfer Josè Rizal, der auf diesem Platz von den Spaniern erschossen wurde. Der Park befindet sich im hektischen Manila und bietet ein Ort für Ruhe, Frieden und Erholung. In unmittelbarer Nähe finden sich auch einige Museen.

Manila Baywalk

Anfang 2019 wurde die gesamte Uferpromenade gereinigt. Die gepflasterte Promenade lädt zu romantischen Spaziergängen zum Sonnenuntergang ein. Am Manila Baywalk tummeln sich ebenfalls Filipinos, die die Abendsonne genießen und den Tag ausklingen lassen.

Finanzzentrum Makati

Makati ist der modernste Stadtteil. Dort sind die meisten Banken und Finanzunternehmen angesiedelt. Wolkenkratzer aus Glas, edle Villen, außergewöhnliche und riesige Shopping Malls sind in Makati zu Hause. Nachts ist die Skyline hell beleuchtet. Restaurants und Bars laden zum Ausgehen ein.

Pasay City

Pasay City ist die Hochburg für philippinische Kunst und Kultur. Das Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) steht für die Kulturentwicklung des südostasiatischen Landes und das Philippine Museum of Ethnology zeigt die Geschichte und Kultur der philippinischen Völker auf. 

Taal-Volcano-National Park

Der Taal Vulkan ist einer der aktivsten Vulkane der Philippinen und bei Wanderern besonders beliebt.  Er liegt 50 Kilometer südlich von Manila, in der Nähe von Tagaty City, und kann an einem Tagesausflug besucht werden, Der Vulkan selbst liegt auf einer Insel, welche wiederrum in einem See liegt. Frühes Ankommen lohnt sich, damit man der heißen Mittagssonne entkommt.

Pagsanjan Falls

100 Kilometer südöstlich von Manila in der Nähe der Stadt Santa Cruz liegt der Pagsanjan Wasserfall im idyllischen Regenwald und ist nur per Boot zu erreichen. Genauer, mit einem Einbaumboot. Die Bootsfahrt über Stromstellen kann erfrischend werden und garantiert ein echtes Abenteuer. Individuelle Anreise kann ab Manila per Bus und Jeepney erfolgen. Um den Touristenströmen aus dem Weg zu gehen, ist es ratsam um 7 Uhr in Manila zu starten. Die Tour kostet circa 660 Pesos. Der Ausflug sollte nur bei ausgeschilderten Boots-Anlegerstellen und offiziellen Anbietern gebucht werden.

Menü
de_DEGerman