Camiguin

Insider tip for adventurers

The small volcanic island of Camiguin is considered an insider tip in the Philippines and enchants nature lovers and snorkelers in particular. Black lava beaches, colorful coral gardens, waterfalls and hot and cold springs are on the program here.

Camiguin is located north of the Mindanao coast and is also known as the Galapagos of Southeast Asia.

Volcano climb

Camiguin has more volcanoes per square kilometer than any other island in the world. There are a total of 7 volcanoes from Camiguin, the best known of which is the Hibok-Hibok. This can be climbed within three hours. We also recommend a guide for experienced hikers, as sometimes the right paths are not easy to find.

Waterfalls & springs

Camiguin can be circled with a scooter in just 3 hours. To see the highlights of the island, however, 3 days should be planned. Because, the list of natural wonders is long: the Katibawasan Waterfall, the cold springs Macao Cold Springs and Sto Ninjo Cold Springs, and the hot springs Ardent Hot Springs. Tip: The Ardent hot spring is open around the clock. A visit in the dark is particularly pleasant.

White Island

The tiny island of White Island is just a few hundred meters off the coast of Camiguin. If you want to feel like Robinson Crusoe and are looking for a break on an uninhabited island, you should visit this. Nothing, except fine, white sand surrounded by the clear ocean. With a little luck, turtles can also be seen.

Giant clams

When visiting Guinsiliban, you should definitely visit the marine reserve for giant clams. The giant clams weigh up to 200 kilograms and shimmer in different colors. You can also snorkel in the marine reserve and get very close to the shells.

Sunken Cemetery

The "sunken cemetery" is the symbol of Camiguin Island. A cross in the middle of the ocean. The cross was erected after a volcanic eruption brought the actual cemetery below the surface of the sea. A place on Camiguin from which you can experience a colorful sunset. It's also great for snorkeling!  

How to get to Camiguin

Cebu City to Camiguin
From Cebu there are direct flights to Camiguin Island, Mambajao

Manila to Camiguin
From Manila there are direct flights to Camiguin Island, Mambajao. The majority of the flights make a stopover in Cebu-City.

Bohol to Camiguin
There is a daily ferry to Camiguin from Bohol, Jagna. The ferry may fail due to the weather.

Itinerary: Off the path

The Off the path route takes you to Camiguin

Menü
en_USEnglish

Camiguin

Geheimtipp für Abenteurer

Die kleine Vulkaninsel Camiguin gilt als Geheimtipp der Philippinen und verzaubert vor allem Naturliebhaber und Schnorchler. Schwarze Lavastrände, bunte Korallengärten, Wasserfälle sowie heiße und kalte Quellen stehen hier auf dem Programm.

Camiguin liegt nördlich vor der Küste Mindanaos und wird auch als das Galapagos von Südostasien bezeichnet.

Vulkanbesteigung

Camiguin hat mehr Vulkane pro Quadratkilometer als jede andere Insel dieser Welt.  So gibt es aus Camiguin insgesamt 7 Vulkane, der bekannteste ist der Hibok-Hibok. Dieser kann innerhalb von drei Stunden bestiegen werden. Wir empfehlen auch für erfahrene Wanderer einen Guide, da die richtigen Wege manchmal nicht leicht zu finden sind.

Wasserfälle & Quellen

Camiguin kann mit einem Roller schon in 3 Stunden umrundet werden. Um die Highlights von der Insel zu sehen, sollten aber 3 Tage eingeplant werden. Denn, die Liste der Naturwunder ist lang: Der Katibawasan Waterfall, die kalten Quellen Macao Cold Springs und Sto Ninjo Cold Springs, sowie die heißen Quellen Ardent Hot Springs. Tipp: Die heiße Quelle von Ardent ist rund um die Uhr geöffnet. Ein Besuch im Dunkeln ist besonders angenehm.

White Island

Die winzig kleine Insel White Island liegt nur einige Hundertmeter vor der Küste von Camiguin. Wer sich wie Robinson Crusoe fühlen möchte und eine Auszeit auf einer unbewohnten Insel sucht, sollte diese besuchen. Nichts, außer feiner, weißer Sand umringt vom klaren Ozean. Mit ein wenig Glück lassen sich auch Schildkröten blicken.

Riesenmuscheln

Bei einem Besuch in Guinsiliban sollte unbedingt das Meeresschutzgebiet für Riesenmuscheln besucht werden. Die Riesenmuscheln werden bis zu 200 Kilogramm schwer und schillern in verschiedenen Farben. In dem Meeresschutzgebiet darf man auch schnorcheln und kann den Muscheln dabei ganz nah kommen.

Sunken Cemetery

Der „versunkene Friedhof“ ist das Wahrzeichen von Camiguin Island. Ein Kreuz inmitten des Ozeans. Das Kreuz wurde errichtet, nachdem ein Vulkanausbruch den eigentlichen Friedhof hat unter die Meeresoberfläche bringen lassen. Ein Plätzchen auf Camiguin von dem man einen farbenreichen Sonnenuntergang erlebt. Zudem lässt es sich dort hervorragend Schnorcheln!  

Anreise Camiguin

Cebu-City nach Camiguin
Ab Cebu gibt es Direktflüge nach Camiguin Island, Mambajao

Manila nach Camiguin
Ab Manila gibt es Direktflüge nach Camiguin Island, Mambajao. Die Mehrzahl der Flüge macht einen Zwischenstopp in Cebu-City.

Bohol nach Camiguin
Ab Bohol, Jagna, fährt täglich eine Fähre nach Camiguin. Die Fähre kann wetterbedingt ausfallen.

Reiseroute: Off the path

Die Reiseroute Off the path bringt dich nach Camiguin

Menü
de_DEGerman